(german) (top)


Heinz, G.: Neural Interferences.
Author equals editor. Personal distribution, 1993, 301 pp.

Preface

(Google translation with corrections)

Information can only be linked together where it is present at the same time. Digital gates in the PC or smartphone, for example, require that the signals to be linked are statically present at the inputs of a gate for a certain period of time. Computers therefore have a clock and a clock frequency. The time of a clock transition from high to low or vice versa defines the takeover of the signals into a module. But the clock signal has to be present on the huge integrated circuit (IC) everywhere exactly to nanoseconds at the same time.

While wires and circuits in computers transmit any signal at about a tenth the speed of light, nerve networks are around a million times slower. Clock signals run so slowly that they cannot be used for synchronization. And as if that wasn't horror enough, nervous signals are pulse-like. We speak of "spikes". And spikes crawl extremely slowly through our brain. So how are nerve networks synchronized?

If we try to bring two spikes coming from different directions together at an AND gate , they will rarely arrive at the same time: The gate output will remain silent. Digital circuits mostly don't work with spikes. Especially not when the wires are as slow as our nerves. Information can only be processed where it is present at the same time. Nerve networks don't seem to work like our computers. But how do they work?

To find out how nerve-networks might work, we imagine that each nerve branches out in many directions. If we now look at spikes that are wandering around in different nerves, then we are sure to find a place where they meet each other. Only a nerve cell located at this point can be excited!

In contrast to the computer, in which logic levels (0 or 1) determine the information content, the location of the simultaneity of the meeting of different spikes determines "the information" in the nerve network. Nerve networks cannot be understood with computer informatics. They are of different nature. We are dealing with a completely different computer science.

If you think about this thought for a long time, you will discover the principle behind it: Nerve networks can only work projectively (depicting, image-like), never static like a computer. That explains why it takes us years to learn the multiplication table. Or why memory artists have to invent a picture story in order to be able to memorize a few playing cards: We arrive at the "interference networks". The information content is like a photo in the sharpness of a projection. Waves become images and vice versa - optics and acoustics merge under the roof of the interference networks: "Seeing is Hearing" was written on the first acoustic camera in 1996.

It borders on a miracle that Karl Lashley, who became famous for his rat experiments ("In search of the engram"), came to postulate interferences in nerve networks as early as 1942. Unfortunately, I only discovered the following quote in Karl Pribram's estate after his death in January 2015. Karl had sent me various articles over the years.

    Lashley (1942) had proposed that interference patterns among wave fronts in brain electrical activity could serve as the substrate of perception and memory as well. This suited my earlier intuitions, but Lashley and I had discussed this alternative repeatedly, without coming up with any idea what wave fronts would look like in the brain. Nor could we figure out how, if they were there, how they could account for anything at the behavioral level. These discussions taking place between 1946 and 1948 became somewhat uncomfortable in regard to Don Hebb's book (1948) that he was writing at the time we were all together in the Yerkes Laboratory for Primate Biology in Florida. Lashley didn't like Hebb's formulation but could not express his reasons for this opinion: "Hebb is correct in all his details but he's just oh so wrong" . (Karl Pribram in 'Brain and Mathematics', 1991)

Donald Hebb wrote in his book:

    "When one neuron repeatedly assists in firing another, the axon of the first cell develops synaptic knobs (or enlarges them, if they already exist) in contact with the soma of the second cell".

This approach quickly became the universal, but unsuitable basis for neuro-computing (NN, ANN) for modeling neural networks worldwide.

But why said Lashley: "Hebb is correct in all his details but he's just oh so wrong"? Because learning can only be done where the delay structure of the network ensures, that the information to be processed (pulses) arrive exactly at the same time. If a neuron does not receive the partial pulses of a source at the same time due to an unsuitable delay structure, it will neither learn nor do anything. Only a neuron whose delay structure enables code detection (chap. 10, p.210) can learn or do something. "Delays dominate over weights" I wrote different times.

With the thumb experiment in 1992, the author noticed rather accidentally, that pulses in connection with very low conduction speeds of nerves produce an unknown type of communication and information processing. The delay of needle-sharp pulses means that information can only be processed where pulses meet. Temporal patterns thus become spatial codes. Pulse waves propagate through various nerve fibers. Wherever a pulse wave interferes with itself or with another, its goal has been reached. Or where different wave fronts meet.

In order to get further in terms of ideas , a wave theory in the time domain had to be developed as well as a wave theory on discrete and inhomogeneous spaces . This is where the term 'Wave Interference Networks' came from. Ideas on the way to this unknown computer science are outlined in the manuscript.

Titelblatt

In 1992, research on "Neural Networks" (NN, now known as Artifical Neural Nets ~ ANN) had reached a rock bottom. Faith and funding slowly dried up. Technicians increasingly rejected ANN because their learning behavior was not verifiable, whereas the biologists' approach was too mystical, see quote above. Partly catastrophic learning successes brought the end. What remained was ANN and, as a mathematical IT discipline, the so-called connectionism . The NN lacked something for the interpretation of nerve networks. Unity clocked "neural networks" violate the spacetime structure of a neural network to be modeled, which leads to catastrophic modeling errors right from the start.

Digital filters use the temporal dimension, networks the spatial one. In the nerve network, however, both dimensions are linked: the greater the length of an axon or dendrite, the greater the distance between two neurons, the greater the delay times. Extremely slow speeds together with pulse-like signals, ensure that, unlike ANN, nerve networks have to get by without a clock. How can such systems work?

Nervous networks consistently represent unsynchronized race circuits. Wherever a pulse meets its brothers, the goal is reached. That means: the delay time structure of the network alone defines the sender and recipient! Bits cannot be added on such networks. Only images or (pictorial) characters are transferable. Interference networks are bound to projections (optical type). And these are basically mirror-inverted.

You can also use them to build n-dimensional digital filters, think of three-dimensional FIR- or IIR-filters. In order to better recognize properties, the term "interference", known from optics, seemed useful as the lowest common denominator. Information is processed where wave peaks arrive in high, relative simultaneity. As a result, these networks were called "interference networks" (IN) by the author from 1996 onwards.

Already in 1992, the realization had matured, that pulse figures of nervous type, if at all, can map only mirrored (see cover page). As an addressing principle in neural spaces, the thumb experiment was used to demonstrate the relativity of pulse propagation, see Chapter 6 of the thumb experiment from December 16, 1992. Unknown aspects of neural computer science far away from neural networks or Boolean algebra became apparent.

In practice, mirror-inverted images were known from optics and from nerve experiments (Penfields Homunculus, Jeffress sound location), but they could not be discovered in the literature of neurocomputing, which at that time already comprised hundreds of thousands of articles and thousands of books. In terms of system theory, something was wrong with the so-called neural networks. Research began.

With the discovery of mirror-inverted pulse images, it became necessary to explore the physically real possibilities of these "delay networks" and to explore their peculiarities (zooming, movement, interference overflow, connection and decomposition, overdetermination, n-dimensionality, space-time coding, neighborhood inhibition, bursts etc.).

These investigations were extremely successful. They led to the manuscript in no time. For example, "seeing" and "hearing" merge through investigations into self-interference (vision cards) and external interference (hearing cards). This knowledge formed the basis for the development of the first acoustic images and films between 1995 and 1996 and acoustic imaging par excellence (Acoustic Camera) .

Actually only intended as a reminder, it was necessary to sketch in the shortest possible time the approximate direction of a paradigm shift from a mathematical to a physical, wave-theoretical view of nervous networks (pulse waves on ionic channels).

Interference networks (IN) can be discovered in a variety of tasks, from optics to digital race-circuits, radar, sonar, GPS, beamforming, neural networks and signal processing. From this point of view, digital circuits, state machines, digital filters, pattern or weight networks (ANN) represent IN-subgroups with discrete timing. Nerve networks are only used as a synonym for sketching a vision of a more abstract system theory, that of interference networks. The diversity of the areas of knowledge concerned literally pushed for a theoretical basis of a more abstract nature. Like digital filters, Boolean algebras are only a sub-area of interference networks.

There are some names in the book that must be considered inappropriate today. For example, Teuvo Kohonen ** questioned the use of the term "convolution" in 1995 (e.g. "Faltung", KA06.pdf, page 147). Here we come across a peculiarity of interference systems, which may be the reason for the hurdle-rich access.

While the multiplicative, one-dimensional interference of two impulses on an electrical wire has the analogy of the mathematical convolution (here we can fold the time axis), we do not use the term in two-dimensional or higher-dimensional space the convolution completely, since no convolution of the time axis can be carried out here. For this purpose, the "mask algorithm" was introduced, which also includes the one-dimensional convolution integral as an interference integral. More, modeling the sciatic nerve experiment with wave deletion, Chapter 6, p.144, convolution- and interfrence-integrals refuse too.

A demarcation between the interference integral and the convolution integral was presented in 2011 in Bangkok. A Javascript calculation table was designed on the subject of convolution integral versus interference integral, which tries to make things clearer. There it is shown, that the convolution integral and the interference integral (in one-dimensional space) are identical. We owe a proof approach to Alfred Fettweis, who derived the identity of the interference integral and the convolution integral for the one-dimensional variant (see there).

If we take time functions between the generating space and the detecting space as so-called channel data, the question of the predictability of the images in both spaces arises. If we want to calculate the generator space, we speak of (non-reversed) reconstruction, if the detector space is to be calculated, of (mirror-inverted) projection. Both differ only in the direction of the time axis or in the direction of the delays. PSI-Tools or NoiseImage only calculate the reconstruction integral, in order to calculate the projection, the time axis could be inverted with PSI-Tools (function removed in NoiseImage).

The approach for projection and reconstruction (as a basis, for example for acoustic photo and cinematography) was laid with this book, see mask algorithm, Chapter 14, p.284. For more information, see reversed interference projections of type f(t-T) , or right-sided interference reconstruction of type f(t+T) .

Since publications of algorithmic nature have been against the commercial usability of the results since first acoustic images appeared, these were only sparse.

In brief, a key statement of the manuscript reads as follows: Nerve networks can only be adequately simulated with a three-dimensional, electrical network simulation. Each network node requires spatial coordinates. Each branch needs a delay. All delays that can be read from the three-dimensional structure of the nerve network must be mapped very precisely: These essentially form the function ("form codes behavior"). In addition, static (stimulating or inhibiting) synapses and threshold value parameters must of course be observed. Wave-deletion on bidirectional branches needs to be modelled. How, is not cleared.

The first application of the book for acoustic imaging showed success just two years later (1995): the world's first acoustic images and films were created with the software "PSI-Tools" (Parallel and Serial Interference Tools, Sabine Höfs & Gerd Heinz).

The book manuscript including all formulas and pictures was written with Lotus AmiPro3.1 under Windows3.1 (1988-1994). Unfortunately, paragraph formatting only worked correctly up to Windows98. Corrections could therefore only be incorporated up to the turn of the millennium. The date in the cover was probably accidentally set to 'File Creation Date'. The manuscript was created with own resources. It had to be ended in May 1993, as a job with the employer GFaI e.V. was due from 1.6.1993. Smaller additions and corrections followed until the beginning of 1994 (e.g. the section on the barn owl had been added in Chapter 1 "Jeffress delay model 1948"). 1993, Mark Konishi published the thoughts of his teacher Jeffres on hearing location parallel to the NI manuscript ***.

The original chapter 10 (Interference Logic) failed in the approach. Mathematical modeling was attempted here, which turned out to be too narrow. After simulative verifications with Peter Puschmann and Gunnar Schoel (FHTW 1994), the chapter was later exchanged for the chapter "Elementary functions of the neuron", see also the original table of contents from 1993 (there are also old references in the index).

The book was actually written as a working manuscript. Connections and ideas should not only be noted on a sketch pad. Including all the pictures and formulas written in one hundred days (January 1993 to May 1993), the details are partially immature, the formulations are still uncertain, and every now and then it is euphoric without the reader always being able to understand it. It clearly shows the turmoil in which a new field of knowledge is unfolding. In short: one misses the rounding of mature works. Nevertheless, it still seems worth reading today. Many general findings are still brand new.

To speak with Thomas S. Kuhn*: In retrospect, the manuscript shows the obstacles on the way, but not the brilliance of the abstractions. It is more suitable for science historians than for students. Nevertheless: It is the book to which we owe acoustic imaging and to which we could gradually owe a consolidation of neuroscience: If only these basics were teached.

    Today, 2020, it is still not known that any university in the world would give a course on "Interference Networks".

The problem: biologists and physicians only have rudimentary physics, computer science and math education; physicists don't know about neuro-anatomy. This is extremely sad because an understanding of the nervous system is only possible when the neuroscientist has mastered these fundamentals all together. New research remains fragmentary as long as interference networks are not understood. Funders should gradually become aware of this. You cannot build a chair without knowledge and tools of the carpenter's trade.

Since no real book has yet been written (it would be too early for that), but I keep receiving requests for explanatory materials on interference networks, this working manuscript will remain on the web as long as nothing better is available.

Sometimes the journey is the goal.



Neural Interferences

Detailed table of contents: HTML / PDF

Cover
Chapter 0 Preface
Chapter 1 Introduction
Chapter 2a Wave propagation 1
Chapter 2b Wave propagation 2
Chapter 3 Images without changing the refractive index
Chapter 4 Images with a change in the refractive index
Chapter 5 Special images
Chapter 6 Delay lines
Chapter 7 System optimization
Chapter 8a Time functions
Chapter 8b Code selection with delay lines
Chapter 9a Visualization of waves 1
Chapter 9b Visualization of waves 2
Chapter 10 Elementary functions of the neuron
Chapter 11 Colored interference systems
Chapter 12 Biological modeling
Chapter 13 Analytical tools
Chapter 14 Mean, correlation, convolution
Chapter 15 Property rights usability
Chapter 16 Bibliography
Index


* Kuhn, Thomas Samuel: The Structure of Scientific Revolutions. Uni Chicago Press, 1962
** Kohonen, Teuvo: http://www.cis.hut.fi/research/som-research/teuvo.html
*** Konishi, Mark: The sound localization of the barn owl. Spectrum of Science, June 1993, pp.58-71



© All rights reserved with Gerd K. Heinz, Berlin. Commercial use only with the written permission of the author.

http://www.gheinz.de
info@gheinz.de

Access No. since last counter reset

(english) (top)


Heinz, G.: Neuronale Interferenzen.
Autor gleich Herausgeber. Persönlicher Verteiler, 1993, 301 S.

Vorwort

Informationen können nur dort miteinander verknüpft werden, wo sie zur selben Zeit anwesend sind. Digitale Gatter im PC oder Smartphone setzen zum Beispiel voraus, daß die zu verknüpfenden Signale statisch für eine gewisse Zeit an den Eingängen eines Gatters anliegen. Computer besitzen deshalb einen Takt und eine Taktfrequenz. Der Zeitpunkt eines Takt-Übergangs von high auf low oder umgekehrt definiert die Übernahme der Signale in eine Baugruppe. Dazu muß das Taktsignal aber überall auf einem riesigen Schaltkreis (IC) auf Nanosekunden genau gleichzeitig vorhanden sein.

Während Drähte und Schaltkreise im Computer jedes Signal mit etwa einem Zehntel der Lichtgeschwindigkeit übertragen, sind Nervennetze rund eine Million mal langsamer. Taktsignale laufen so langsam, daß sie zur Synchronisationion nicht genutzt werden können. Und als ob das nicht schon Horror genug wäre, sind nervliche Signale pulsartig. Neudeutsch sprechen wir von "Spikes". Und diese kriechen extrem langsam durch unser Gehirn. Wie also werden Nervennetze synchronisiert?

Versuchen wir, zwei aus verschiedenen Richtungen kommende Spikes an einem AND-Gatter zusammenzubringen, so werden diese selten gleichzeitig ankommen: Der Gatterausgang wird still bleiben. Digitale Schaltungen funktionieren nicht so recht mit Spikes. Insbesondere dann nicht, wenn die Leitungen so langsam wie unsere Nerven sind. Informationen können nur dort verarbeitet werden, wo sie zur selben Zeit anwesend sind. Nervennetze funktionieren offenbar nicht so, wie unsere Computer. Wie aber funktionieren sie?

Um herauszufinden, wie Nervennetze funktionieren könnten, stellen wir uns vor, daß jeder Nerv in viele Richtungen verzweigt. Wenn wir jetzt zwei Spikes betrachten, die in unterschiedlichen Nerven herumirren, dann finden wir sicher eine Stelle, an der sich sich begegnen. Nur eine an dieser Stelle liegende Nervenzelle kann erregt werden.

Im Gegensatz zum Computer, bei dem logische Pegel (0 oder 1) den Informationsgehalt bestimmen, bestimmt im Nervennetz der Ort der Gleichzeitigkeit des Zusammentreffens verschiedener Spikes eine Information. Nervennetze lassen sich damit nicht mit Computer-Informatik verstehen. Sie sind wesensverschieden. Wir haben es mit einer gänzlich verschiedenen Informatik zu tun.

Denkt man diesen Gedanken sehr lange weiter, entdeckt man das Prinzip dahinter: Nervennetze können nur projizierend (abbildend, bildartig) kommunizieren, niemals statisch wie ein Computer. Das erklärt, warum wir Jahre brauchen, um das Einmaleins zu lernen. Oder warum Gedächtniskünstler eine Bildergeschichte erfinden müssen, um sich ein paar Spielkarten merken zu können: Wir sind bei den Interferenznetzwerken angekommen. Der Informationsgehalt steckt wie bei einem Photo in der Schärfe einer Projektion. Aus Wellen werden Bilder und umgekehrt - Optik und Akustik fließen unter dem Dach der Interferenznetzwerke zusammen: "Sehend Hören" stand 1996 auf der ersten, akustischen Kamera.

Es grenzt an ein Wunder, daß der mit seinen Rattenexperimenten bekannt gewordene Karl Lashley ("In search of the engram") schon 1942 dazu kam, Interferenzen in Nervennetzen zu postulieren. Ich entdeckte folgendes Zitat leider erst im Nachlaß von Karl Pribram nach dessen Tod im Januar 2015. Karl hatte mir über die Jahre verschiedene Aufsätze zugesandt.

    Lashley (1942) had proposed that interference patterns among wave fronts in brain electrical activity could serve as the substrate of perception and memory as well. This suited my earlier intuitions, but Lashley and I had discussed this alternative repeatedly, without coming up with any idea what wave fronts would look like in the brain. Nor could we figure out how, if they were there, how they could account for anything at the behavioral level. These discussions taking place between 1946 and 1948 became somewhat uncomfortable in regard to Don Hebb's book (1948) that he was writing at the time we were all together in the Yerkes Laboratory for Primate Biology in Florida. Lashley didn't like Hebb's formulation but could not express his reasons for this opinion: "Hebb is correct in all his details but he's just oh so wrong". (Karl Pribram in 'Brain and Mathematics', 1991)

Donald Hebb schrieb in seinem Buch:

    "When one neuron repeatedly assists in firing another, the axon of the first cell develops synaptic knobs (or enlarges them, if they already exist) in contact with the soma of the second cell".

Dieser Ansatz wurde schnell zur universellen, aber für die Modellierung von Nervennetzen ungeeigneten Grundlage des Neuro-Computing (NN, ANN).

Warum aber meinte Lashley: "Hebb is correct in all his details but he's just oh so wrong"? Weil nur dort gelernt werden kann, wo die Verzögerungsstruktur des Netzwerks dafür sorgt, daß die zu verarbeitenden Informationen (Pulse) gleichzeitig ankommen. Wenn ein Neuron durch eine unpassende Verzögerungsstruktur die Partialpulse einer Quelle nicht gleichzeitig erhält, wird es weder lernen, noch etwas tun. Nur ein Neuron, dessen Verzögerungsstruktur eine Codedetektion (Kap. 10, S.210) ermöglicht, kann lernen oder etwas tun. Verzögerungen dominieren damit über Gewichte.

Der Autor bemerkte 1992 mit dem Daumenexperiment eher zufällig, daß Pulse in Verbindung mit sehr geringen Leitgeschwindigkeiten von Nerven eine unbekannte Art von Kommunikation und Informationsverarbeitung hervorbringen. Die Verzögerung nadelscharfer Impulse bewirkt, daß nur dort Informationen verarbeitet werden können, wo Pulse sich treffen. Zeitliche Muster werden damit zu räumlichen Codes. Pulswellen breiten sich durch verschiedene Nervenfasern aus. Dort, wo eine Pulswelle mit sich selbst oder mit einer anderen interferiert, ist ihr Ziel erreicht. Oder dort, wo sich verschiedene Wellenfronten begegnen.

Um gedanklich weiter zu kommen, war eine Wellentheorie im Zeitbereich ebenso zu entwickeln, wie eine Wellentheorie auf diskreten und inhomogenen Räumen. Daraus entstand der Begriff 'Wave Interference Networks'. Im Manuskript sind Ideen auf dem Wege hin zu dieser unbekannten Informatik skizziert.

Titelblatt

1992 war die Forschung zu "Neuronalen Netzwerken" (NN, heute als Artifical Neural Nets ~ ANN bezeichnet) an einem Tiefpunkt angelangt. Glaube und Fördermittel versiegten langsam. Techniker lehnten ANN zunehmend ab, weil deren Lernverhalten nicht verifizierbar war, den Biologen hingegen war der Zugang zu mystisch, siehe Zitat oben. Teils katastrophale Lernerfolge brachten das Aus. Übrig blieben ANN und als mathematisch/informatische Disziplin der sog. Konnektionismus. Zur Interpretation von Nervennetzen fehlte den NN etwas. Einheits-getaktete "Neuronale Netze" verletzen die Raumzeitstruktur eines zu modellierenden Nervennetzes, dies führt zu katastrophalen Modellierungsfehlern bereits im Ansatz.

Digitale Filter nutzen die zeitliche Dimension, Netzwerke die räumliche. Im Nervennetz aber sind beide Dimensionen verbandelt: Je größer die Länge eines Axon oder Dendriten, je größer der Abstand zweier Neurone, desto höher sind Verzögerungszeiten. Extrem langsame Leitgeschwindigkeiten sorgen zusammen mit pulsartigen Signalen dafür, daß Nervennetze im Gegensatz zu ANN ohne Takt auskommen müssen. Wie können solche Systeme funktionieren?

Nervliche Netzwerke stellen durchweg nicht synchronisierte Wettlaufschaltungen dar. Dort, wo sich ein Puls mit seinen Brüdern wiedertrifft, ist das Ziel erreicht. Das heißt: Allein die Verzögerungszeitstruktur des Netzes definiert Absender und Empfänger! Auf solchen Netzen lassen sich keine Bits addieren. Nur Bilder oder (bildliche) Zeichen sind übertragbar. Interferenznetze sind an Projektionen (optischer Art) gebunden. Und diese sind grundsätzlich spiegelverkehrt.

Auch kann man mit ihnen n-dimensionale Digitalfilter aufbauen, man denke an dreidimensionale FIR/IIR-Filter. Um Eigenschaften besser zu erkennen, erschien der aus der Optik bekannte Begriff der "Interferenz" als kleinster, gemeinsamer Nenner brauchbar. Informationen werden dort verarbeitet, wo Wellenberge in hoher, relativer Gleichzeitigkeit eintreffen. Folglich hießen diese Netze beim Autor ab 1996 "Interferenznetzwerke" (IN) (von "to interfere" - überlagern).

Schon 1992 war die Erkenntnis gereift, daß Pulsabbildungen nervlicher Art wenn überhaupt, dann nur spiegelverkehrt (siehe Titelblatt rechts) kartieren können. Als Adressierungsprinzip in neuronalen Räumen wurde mit dem Daumenexperiment die Relativität der Pulsausbreitung nachgewiesen, siehe im Kapitel 6 das Daumenexperiment vom 16.12.1992. Unbekannte Aspekte einer neuronalen Informatik fernab von Neuronalen Netzen oder Boolescher Algebra deuteten sich an.

Spiegelverkehrte Abbildungen waren in der Praxis aus Optik und aus Nervenexperimenten (Penfields Homunculus, Jeffress Schallortung) bekannt, nicht aber konnte man sie in der Literatur des Neurocomputing entdecken, die damals bereits hunderttausende Aufsätze und tausende Bücher umfasste. Systemtheoretisch stimmte etwas nicht mit den sogenannten Neuronalen Netzwerken. So begann eine Recherche.

Mit der Entdeckung der spiegelverkehrten Pulsabbildungen war es nötig geworden, die physikalisch realen Möglichkeiten dieser "Verzögerungsnetze", zu erkunden und deren Eigenheiten zu erkunden (Zooming, Movement, Interferenzüberlauf, Verbindung und Zerlegung, Überbestimmtheit, n-Dimensionalität, Raum-Zeit-Codierung, Nachbarschaftshemmung, Bursts etc.).

Diese Untersuchungen verliefen überaus erfolgreich. Sie führten in kürzester Zeit zum Manuskript. So verschmelzen zum Beispiel "Sehen" und "Hören" über Untersuchungen zu Eigeninterferenzen (Seh-Karten) und zu Fremdinterferenzen (Hör-Karten) miteinander. Diese Erkenntnis bildete die Grundlage für die Entwicklung der ersten, akustischen Bilder und Filme zwischen 1995 und 1996 und der akustischen Bildgebung schlechthin (Akustische Kamera).

Eigentlich nur als Gedankenstütze gedacht, war es nötig, in kürzester Zeit die ungefähre Richtung eines Paradigmenwechsels von einer mathematischen hin zu einer physikalischen, wellentheoretischen Sicht auf nervliche Netze (Pulswellen auf Leitbahnen) zu skizzieren.

Interferenznetze können bei einer Vielfalt von Aufgaben, von der Optik über digitale Wettlaufschaltungen, Radar, Sonar, GPS, Beamforming, neuronale Netze bis hin zur Signalverarbeitung entdeckt werden. Digitale Schaltungen, Zustandsautomaten, digitale Filter, Pattern- oder Gewichtsnetze (künstlich-neuronale Netze) stellen aus dieser Sicht Untergruppen mit diskretem Timing dar. Nervennetze werden nur zum Synonym, um eine Vision einer abstrakteren Systemtheorie zu skizzieren, die der Interferenznetze. Die Vielfalt der betroffenen Wissensgebiete drängte förmlich auf eine theoretische Grundlage abstrakterer Natur. Ebenso wie digitale Filter sind Boolsche Algebren nur ein Untergebiet der Interferenznetze.

Im Buch sind einige Namensgebungen zu finden, die heute als unpassend gelten müssen. So hinterfragte Teuvo Kohonen** 1995 zum Beispiel die Verwendung des Begriffes "Faltung" (z.B. KA06.pdf, Seite 147). Hier stoßen wir auf eine Besonderheit von Interferenzsystemen, die möglicherweise ursächlich für den hürdenreichen Zugang ist.

Während die multiplikative, eindimensionale Interferenz zweier Impulse auf einer elektrischen Laufzeit-Leitung der mathematischen Faltung identisch ist (hier können wir die Zeitachse falten), verzichten wir im zwei- oder höherdimensionalen Raum auf den Begriff der Faltung vollständig, da sich hier keine Faltung der Zeitachse durchführen läßt. Hierfür wurde der "Maskenalgorithmus" eingeführt, der als Interferenzintegral auch das eindimensionale Faltungsintegral einschließt. Mehr noch: Schon für das eindimensionale Ischias-Nerv-Experiment mit Wellenauslöschung (Kapitel 6, S.144) versagen Faltungs-, wie Interferenzintegral.

Eine Abgrenzung zwischen Interferenzintegral und Faltungsintegral konnte 2011 in Bangkok vorgestellt werden. Eine Javascript-Rechentabelle wurde zum Thema Faltungsintegral versus Interferenzintegral entworfen, die die Dinge anschaulicher macht. Dort wird gezeigt, daß Faltungsintegral und Interferenzintegral (im eindimensionalen Raum) identisch sind. Einen Beweisansatz verdanken wir Alfred Fettweis, der die Identität von Interferenzintegral und Faltungsintegral für die eindimensionale Variante herleitete (siehe da).

Greifen wir Zeitfunktionen zwischen generierendem Raum und detektierenden Raum als sog. Kanaldaten ab, entsteht die Frage der Berechenbarkeit der Bilder in beiden Räumen. Wollen wir den Generatorraum berechnen, sprechen wir von (seitenrichtiger) Rekonstruktion, soll der Detektorrraum berechnet werden, von (spiegelverkehrter) Projektion. Beide unterscheiden sich durch nur durch die Richtung der Zeitachse, bzw. die Richtung der Delays. PSI-Tools oder NoiseImage berechnen nur die Rekonstruktion, um damit auch die Projektion zu berechnen, konnte bei PSI-Tools die Zeitachse invertiert werden.

Der Ansatz für Projektion und Rekonstruktion (als Grundlage z.B. der akustischen Photo- und Kinematographie) war mit diesem Buch gelegt, siehe Maskenalgorithmus, Kapitel 14, S.284. Mehr dazu siehe spiegelnde Interferenz-Projektionen vom Typ f(t-T), bzw. seitenrichtige Interferenz-Rekonstruktion vom Typ f(t+T).

Da Veröffentlichungen algorithmischer Art seit 1994 gegen kommerzielle Verwertbarkeit der Ergebnisse standen, z.B. gegen die der daraus entwickelten, ersten, akustischen Kamera, erfolgten diese nur spärlich.

Eine Kernaussage des Manuskripts lautet kurzgefaßt etwa: Nervennetze können nur mit einer dreidimensionalen, elektrischen Netzwerksimulation adäquat simuliert werden. Jeder Netzknoten benötigt Raumkoordinaten. Jeder Zweig benötigt eine Verzögerung (Delay). Alle aus der dreidimensionalen Struktur des Nervennetzes ablesbaren Delays sind genauestens abzubilden: Diese bilden wesentlich die Funktion aus ("Form kodiert Verhalten"). Daneben sind natürlich statische (anregende oder hemmende) Synapsen und Schwellwertparameter zu beachten. Wellenfront-Auslöschung auf bidirektionalen Zweigen ist genauestens zu modellieren (wie, ist noch immer unklar).

Mit einer ersten Anwendung des gewonnenen Wissens für akustische Bildgebung zeigten sich bereits zwei Jahre später (1995) Erfolge: welterste akustische Bilder und Filme entstanden mit der Software "PSI-Tools" (Parallel and Serial Interference Tools, Sabine Höfs & Gerd Heinz).

Das Buchmanuskript wurde inklusive aller Formeln und Bilder mit Lotus AmiPro3.1 unter Windows3.1 (1988-1994) geschrieben. Leider funktionierten Absatzformatierungen nur bis zu Windows98 korrekt. Korrekturen konnten deshalb nur etwa bis zur Jahrtausendwende eingearbeitet werden. Die Datumsangabe im Einband war wohl versehentlich auf 'File Creation Date' gesetzt. Das Manuskript wurde aus eigenen Mitteln erstellt. Es musste im Mai 1993 beendet werden, da ab 1.6.1993 ein Job beim Arbeitgeber GFaI e.V. anstand. Kleinere Ergänzungen und Korrekturen folgten noch bis Anfang 1994 (z.B. der Abschnitt zur Schleiereule in Kap.1 "Jeffress Verzögerungsmodell 1948"). Mark Konishi hatte 1993 parallel zum Manuskript NI die Gedanken seines Lehrers Jeffres zur Hörortung publiziert***.

Das ursprüngliche Kapitel 10 (Interferenzlogik) war im Ansatz mißraten. Hier wurde eine mathematische Modellierung versucht, die sich als zu eng erwies. Das Kapitel wurde nach simulativen Verifikationen mit Peter Puschmann und Gunnar Schoel (FHTW 1994) später gegen das Kapitel "Elementarfunktionen des Neurons" ausgetauscht, siehe auch das originale Inhaltsverzeichnis von 1993. Im Index finden sich ebenfalls noch alte Verweise.

Das Buch stellte eigentlich ein Arbeitsmanuskript dar. Zusammenhänge und Ideen sollten nicht nur auf dem Skizzenblock notiert werden. Einschließlich aller Bilder und Formeln in einhundert Tagen geschrieben (Januar 1993 bis Mai 1993), ist es in Details unausgereift, Begriffsbildungen sind noch unsicher, es ist hin und wieder euphorisch, ohne daß der Leser dies immer nachvollziehen kann. Es zeigt anschaulich, in welchen Wirren sich ein neues Wissensgebiet entfaltet. Kurz: man vermißt die Rundung gereifter Werke. Dennoch erscheint es auch heute noch lesenswert. Viele generelle Erkenntnisse sind noch immer brandaktuell.

Um mit Thomas S. Kuhn* zu sprechen: Das Manuskript zeigt im Rückblick die Hürden des Weges, nicht aber den Glanz der Abstraktionen. Es ist eher für Wissenschaftshistoriker denn für Studenten geeignet. Dennoch: Es ist das Buch, dem wir akustische Bildgebung verdanken und dem wir allmählich eine Konsolidierung der Neuroforschung verdanken könnten: Wenn denn diese Grundlagen gelehrt werden würden.

    Heute, 2020, ist noch immer nicht bekannt, daß an irgendeiner Universität der Erde ein Fach "Interferenznetzwerke" gegeben werden würde.

Das Problem: Biologen und Mediziner haben nur eine rudimentäre Physik-, Informatik- und Matheausbildung; Physiker kennen keine Neuro-Anatomie. Das ist insofern betrüblich, als ein Verständnis vom Nervensystem erst dann möglich wird, wenn der Neuroforscher beide Grundlagen beherrschen. Neuroforschung bleibt solange Stückwerk, solange Interferenznetze nicht verstanden werden. Das sollte Fördermittelzuwendern bewußt werden. Einen Stuhl baut man auch nicht ohne Kenntnis und Werkzeug des Tischlerhandwerks.

Da bis heute noch kein richtiges Buch geschrieben ist (dazu wäre es wohl noch immer zu früh), mich aber immer wieder Bitten zu erklärenden Materialien zu Interferenznetzwerken erreichen, verbleibt dieses Arbeitsmanuskript solange im Web, solange nichts besseres vorhanden ist.

Manchmal ist der Weg das Ziel.



Neuronale Interferenzen

Detailiertes Inhaltsverzeichnis: HTML / PDF

Einband
Kap.0 Vorwort
Kap.1 Einführung
Kap.2a Wellenausbreitung 1
Kap.2b Wellenausbreitung 2
Kap.3 Abbildungen ohne Brechzahländerung
Kap.4 Abbildungen mit Brechzahländerung
Kap.5 Spezielle Abbildungen
Kap.6 Laufzeitleitungen
Kap.7 Systemoptimierung
Kap.8a Zeitfunktionen
Kap.8b Codeselektion mit Laufzeitleitungen
Kap.9a Visualisierung von Wellen 1
Kap.9b Visualisierung von Wellen 2
Kap.10 Elementarfunktionen des Neurons
Kap.11 Gefärbte Interferenzsysteme
Kap.12 Biologienahe Modellierungen
Kap.13 Analytische Hilfsmittel
Kap.14 Mittelwert, Korrelation, Faltung
Kap.15 Schutzrechtliche Verwertbarkeit
Kap.16 Literaturverzeichnis
Index


* Kuhn, Thomas Samuel: The Structure of Scientific Revolutions. Uni Chicago Press, 1962
** Kohonen, Teuvo: http://www.cis.hut.fi/research/som-research/teuvo.html
*** Konishi, Mark: Die Schallortung der Schleiereule. Spektrum der Wissenschaft, Juni 1993, S.58-71



© All rights reserved / alle Rechte bei Gerd K. Heinz, Berlin. Kommerzielle Verwertung nur mit schriftlicher Genehmigung des Autors.

http://www.gheinz.de
info@gheinz.de

Access No. since last counter reset